Chief Webb Photo

A message from Fire Chief Joey Webb Sr.

As Chief of The Waynesville Fire Department I would like to welcome you to our web site. We hope you enjoy your visit with us. Check out our pages to learn about our services. Use our links to visit other departments in our county and other agencies of interest.  If there is anything that myself or my department can do to assist you, please feel free to contact me at


     Chief Webb joined Waynesville Fire Department in October of 1977 as a volunteer. He became a career firefighter with Waynesville in April 1978. After serving Waynesville for five years as an engineer, Chief Webb left the department to work in route sales. During this time, he became a member of the Clyde Volunteer Fire Department. While at Clyde Fire Department, he worked his way up through the ranks and became Chief in 1997. Chief Webb served as Chief for eight years. In April of 2006, Chief Webb returned to Waynesville Fire Department as Assistant Fire Chief under the command of Chief William A. Fowler. Upon Chief Fowler's retirement in June of 2008, Chief Webb was promoted to Fire Chief. Chief Webb has served in the past as Chairman of the North Carolina Fallen Firefighters Foundation. Chief Webb currently serves as 1st Vice President on the North Carolina Association of Fire Chiefs board. Chief Webb was the 2017 North Carolina Fire Chief of the Year.

Past Waynesville Fire Chiefs

William A. Fowler

Leonard Messer

Montgomery Queen

Edgar Boring Sr.

Felix Stovall

Clem Fitzgerald

R. H. Clark

Lawrence Kerley

O. L. Briggs

S. H. Stevenson