Mayor and Town Council

The Town of Waynesville is organized under the Council-Manager form of government, consistent with N.C.G.S. 160A-147, Part 2.  The Council provides policy and budget direction, and the Town Manager, appointed by the Town Council, oversees the day-to-day operations of the Town and the implementation of policy as directed by the Council.

Reaching Us

The Mayor and Council do not hold regular office hours, but may be reached at (828) 452-2491 or via mail at:

P.O. Box 100 - Waynesville, NC 28786 or via email.

The entire Town Council can be emailed at

Individual Town Council Members can be emailed at:

Mayor Gary Caldwell:

Mayor Pro Tem Chuck Dickson:

Councilmember Jon Feichter:

Councilmember Julia Freeman:

Councilmember Anthony Sutton:

The Town of Waynesville Mayor and Town Council are elected to serve four (4) year concurrent terms. Elections were held on Tuesday, November 7, 2023 and the oaths of office for the incoming Board were administered by Chief District Court Judge Roy Wijewickrama at the Regular Town Council Meeting on Tuesday, December 12, 2023. The next election will be held in 2025. Elections are non-partisan and handled by the Haywood County Board of Elections at 828-452-6633.

Meeting Schedule

Town Council meetings are held on the second and fourth Tuesday of each month at 6:00 p.m. in the Board Room of Town Hall located at 9 South Main Street.  You can view the 2024 meeting schedule here. Requests to be included on a regular meeting agenda must be submitted at least ten (10) business days in advance of the meeting for consideration.  Information should be submitted to the Town Clerk either via email ( or delivered to the office at 16 South Main Street, Waynesville.  

If you would like to receive email notification of meetings of the Town Council, please call 452-2491 or email Town Clerk, Candace Poolton at

At the Meeting