Recreation and Parks Advisory Commission

The Members of the Recreation and Parks Advisory Commission are appointed to provide guidance and advice on proposed and existing recreation programs.

Terms of Service

The Commission consists of nine members serving three year terms with an appointment date of July 1. There is no residency requirement to serve on the Recreation and Parks Advisory Commission.


  • Michelle Claytor
  • Don Frady
  • Sarah Massie
  • Wallace Messer
  • Kenneth Mull (Chairman)
  • Kim Gardner
  • Dan Schultz
  • Lee Starnes
  • Wayne Finger
  • Gary (Mackie) McKay


Meetings are held on the third Tuesday of each month at 5:30 p.m. at the Recreation Center located at 550 Vance Street. 

Recreation Director Rhett Langston serves as staff to the Recreation Advisory Commission, and may be reached at or (828) 456-2030.

Meeting Minutes