Planning Board

The Planning Board makes studies of areas, prepares plans, develops policies, ordinances and administrative procedures, making recommendations to the Board of Aldermen and/or Board of Adjustment regarding these issues. 

Terms of Service

Seven members are appointed by the Town and two members are appointed by Haywood County. Terms of appointment are for three (3) years with an appointment date of July 1.   Seven (7) members are residents of the Town with two (2) representatives from the extraterritorial jurisdiction (ETJ).


  • Michael Blackburn
  • Barbara Christian-Thomas
  • Stephen Blake Yoder
  • Susan Teas Smith (Chair)
  • John Thornton (Tommy) Thomas, Jr.
  • John Baus
  • Jan Grossman
  • Stuart Bass - ETJ Representative
  • Ginger Hain - ETJ Representative (Vice Chair)


Meetings are on the third Monday of each month at 5:30 p.m. in the Town Hall Board Room located at 9 South Main Street in Waynesville. 

The Development Services Director staffs the Planning Board, and may be reached at (828) 456-2004  

Meeting Minutes 

Minutes and recordings of the Planning Board Meetings are available here.